University of Oregon Pioneer Awards

It takes vision, courage and perseverance to point the way to where no one has gone before. And it takes leadership to persuade others to make the trek along with you. Such people are called pioneers, and it is through them that society moves forward.


"This evening is the perfect combination of reflecting on our past and looking to the future - of honoring those from our university who have made an impact and raising scholarships for those who will make a difference in the years ahead."  


- Michael H. Schill

President and Professor of Law


The University of Oregon Pioneer Award was established in 1979 to recognize those rare individuals who have been true agents of progress. Each year, the Pioneer Award is presented to individuals who have been outstanding pioneers in business, philanthropy, communication, politics and the arts.

Proceeds benefit the Pioneer Awards Presidential Scholarship Endowment at the University of Oregon, enabling the state's brightest students to excel in their pursuit of higher education.

The 2017 Pioneer Awards were a great success. Thank you for your support of Presidential Scholarships at the University of Oregon.

2017 Pioneer Award Recipients with President

President Michael H. Schill with the 2017 Pioneer Award recipients; Mary and Tim Boyle and Gerry Cameron with wife Marilyn.

The University of Oregon Pioneer Awards are held annually in May. Please save Thursday, May 17, 2018 on your calendar. More details to follow.

UO Pioneer Awards Resources

The Pioneer Award Steering Committee 2016-2017

The University of Oregon would like to thank our distinguished planning committee for their time, effort and collaboration in making this a memorable event.

Anne Marie Levis
Steven Holwerda
Sandra McDonough
Cheryl Perrin
John Herman
Thomas Stewart
Jeff Nudelman
Donald Klotter

For more information, details about table sponsorship or other general questions, contact the Office of Stewardship at or by phone at 541-346-2113.